NOHS/KMH, BTTHS Win Titles in Inter-School Bowlfest

Negros Occidental High School/Kami Mga Hubin and Bacolod Tay Tung HS won its respective titles by 3 pins in the recently-concluded 5th Inter-School Alumni Bowlfest 2017 Stepladder Finals at Negros Super Lanes.

With both teams having a twice-to-beat advantage, bracket “A” top seed NOHS/KMH defeated the surging fifth seed Bacolod City National HS Lucky Strikes, 520-517; while bracket “B” no.1 BTTHS foiled no.2 NOHS Unpredictabowls bid for a back-to-back title, 496-493.

Raymund Galvan of NOHS/KMH pulled a high game score of 127 pin falls to build a huge lead as teammates Essho Garcia and Toto Flores added 104 and 100, respectively. Master Bowler Mike Corral chipped in 95 and Jolores Pabon pinned down 94.

Noralyn Lamis and Peter Hulguin tried to sustain their winning surge for BCNHS Lucky Strikes with 126 pfs and 108 pfs apeice but the team run out of gas. Razel Goyon got 103, Helen Alarcon had 92, and Master Bowler Sylvia Del Rosario raked in 88.

Other members of the champion squad were Robbie Elegado, Katoy Deocadiz, Henry Toga, Joemarie Sevilla, and Gladys Leonardo.

The champion squad recorded the highest team scores of the league with 588 and 1,660.

Eventual 1st runner-up BCNHS Lucky Strikes earned its spot in the championship round by dominating higher seeds Colegio San Agustin-Bacolod United (517-471), NOHS Pinbusters (483-468), and Domingo Lacson National HS D’Bounty Strikers (503-475).

In bracket ‘B’, playing for BTTHS include Kareen Khubchand, Bobby Yap, Nena King, Abe Leong, Jonathan Chua, Joe Panes, Leonard Qui, George Gochico, Steve Yap, Hayley Tan, and Maria Leonila Ting.

Securing the runner-up honors were NOHS Unpredictabowls, STI-West Negros University Bowldozers, Saint Joseph School-La Salle Shieldz, and NOHS Tankers.

Consolation winners were BCHS Tigers in bracket ‘A’ and NOHS 89ers in bracket ‘B’, while NOHS Super Batchoy was awarded as Best in Uniform.

Highest individual scorers were Eric Aguero of NOHS Strikers and Devonne Fernandez of NOHS 89ers with 96 & 93 in pinning, Teody De Arroz of DLNHS Mixers and Del Rosario with 165 & 139 in single, as Jecky Sola of NOHS Unpredictabowls and Del Rosario got 379 & 376 in triple.

This annual mixed 5-man duckpin bowlfest is participated by twenty two teams in eight alumni high schools - NOHS, BCNHS, DLNHS, BTTHS, SJS-LS, CSA-B, STI-WNU, and Barangay Singcang-Airport NHS.

Members of the organizing committee are Noela Borja, Glori Edna Libo-on, Rowena Juarez, Edmon Yanson, Philip Alayon, Tammy Sumogat, and Jose Banguiran.* (JGToga)