C’82 Stays at No.1 in NOHSAAI Bowlfest

Class 1982 continued to stay ahead of the 28-team alumni duckpin league as it collected 2,935 pin falls after day two in the ongoing 2017-2018 NOHSAAI Bowling Festival for Unity hosted by Negros Occidental High School C’93 at Negros Super Lanes, Singcang-Airport in Bacolod City.

Despite pinning an average score on November 4, the number one team managed to hold on behind its reliable duckpinners Cezar Sumaylo ang Ann Dayot. They had a three-game output of 459-475-492.

Running second ’85 trailed by 45 pfs pinned down 2,890 followed by ’97 with 2,865 and ’96 with 2,829. Completing the upper-class teams: 2000up - 2,815; ’94 - 2,814; ’71 - 2,808; ’66 - 2,784; ’90 - 2,743; and ’84 - 2,724.

Alumni over-all chairman Citoy Taño of ’93 was happy to see the camaraderie and unity slowly building up every night between bowlers. “I believe in unity, there is strength. With this opportunity to do just that by hosting a bowling event is really worth it,” Taño added.

In the opening day, ’82 recorded the highest triple with 1,509 including its consistent single games of 499-502-508. C2000up finished second with 1,480 followed by ’97 with 1,479 and ’85 with 1,461.

NOHSAAI president Judge Moises Nifras of C’54 extended his support to the incoming Silver Jubilarian under the chairmainship of Taño for hosting the annual bowlfest. “Organizing this bowling league that can gather as many as thirty four teams is a tricky endeavor for every host batch. But when there is teamwork and collaboration, wonderful things can be achieved,” stressed Judge Nifras.

The retired judge, who plays for the Golden Team composed of selected bowlers that have celebrated its Golden Jubilee, is the oldest active player to date.

Present during the open ceremony on October 28 are secretary Yolanda Larena of ’88, auditor Fitzgerald Fuentes of ’91, and directors Fr Brigido Casas of ’93, Roberto Malaga Jr of ’58, Sheila Guerrero of ’82 & Effie Macasa of ’95.

Hon Caesar Distrito of ’92 is also present during the ceremonial opening.

This five-man duckpin league has a two-stage Elimination Round of ten-scheduled days to determine the Top Five teams that will play in the Stepladder Finals on January 27, 2018.

The bowlfest committee is headed by duckpin director Alex Fantilanan of ’93 with protocol officers Glori R.Libo-on of ’89, Hernan Garciniego of ’73, Tammy Sumogat of ’84, Henry Toga of ’96, Rodrigo Garcia of ’95, Peter Deocadiz of ’94, and Joemar Baylon of ’99.

Games are played every Saturdays at 5PM.* (JGToga)